File Recovery

Restoring previous backups

Restore a file that was deleted locally

  1. Select the Restore tab, choose the 'list backups for restore' option. Choose the backup your desired folder/file resides in. The default restore view is a tree. Select the folders and/or files you would like to recover. If your backup is encrypted, enter your password in the box next to Encryption Password
  2. Choose your options:
  3. Same or remote machine

    Remote is used if you are restoring to a different workstation. Dataprotect must be in use on that machine, and logged into your account. Default is "Same"

  4. Deleted files

    This is useful in folder recovery. If the folder you're restoring has deleted files you may or may not want, you can have Dataprotect ignore them based on your selection. Default is "Skip Deleted Files"

  5. Restore location

    Original restores the folder/file in it's original location.

    Alternate allows the selection of a different restore location. When alternate is selected, click on the folder icon to change your target destination.

    This is useful if one wishes to compare different versions of the same file

    Note: If the original file is already present in the restore location, then the restored file will be saved with an extension SG (eg. a.doc will be saved as a.doc.sg). You can change these settings from the advanced options.

    When you click restore, a window will pop up asking for confirmation.

  6. Click 'OK' to proceed, 'Cancel' to review/make changes- After clicking 'OK', a progess window pops up. Once 'Restore Completed Successfully' is displayed in that window, the restore is complete and the window may be closed.

Disaster Recovery

After reinstalling an operating system

  1. Reinstall the Dataprotect client
  2. Open the Dataprotect web console using one of the following methods:
    • Double click on the 'Dataprotect Web Console' icon on the desktop
    • Double click on the Dataprotect icon in the system tray
    • Right-click on the Dataprotect icon in the system tray and choose the "Dataprotect WebConsole" option
  3. This will open your browser to the Dataprotect login screen

    The default username is 'admin'
    The default password is 'admin'

  4. Click on the 'Restore' Tab
  5. Choose then click on 'Disaster Recovery' option
  6. Choose your backup server from the list

    This should be the same one chosen during installation.

  7. Click add
  8. Click Restore

    At this time, the backup configurations are successfully retrieved, but suspended.

  9. On the Restore tab, click on 'List Backups For Restore'
  10. Choose the desired backup and click on its restore icon

    On the 'Restore Backup Data' screen, Step 1 is auto-filled. You can choose the version of the backup to restore in Step 2. Step 3 allows you to choose which files to restore. Place a check in the visible box(es) to select all. Step 4 allows optional configuration.

  11. When ready, click restore.
  12. Click the Backup tab, then select 'List Backup Schedules' You will see a green arrow on all suspended backups.
  13. Click the green arrow for each backup you would like to restore to resume that backup. You will receive an error if any resumed backup is password protected.
  14. If your retrieved backup schedule was password encrypted, click on the edit icon under "Set Basic Configuration." Enter your password in the Encryption Password line.

    Note, if this has been forgotten, this data can NOT be retireved.

  15. Click save You will see a Green check mark stating "Backup schedule has been updated successfully."
  16. Now click on the "list backups" button
  17. Click on the green arrow under Suspend/Resume

    Dataprotect should begin to restore any missing data. If it does not, please follow the instructions for restoring previous backups.